Carnival in Lanzarote

It´s carnival time in Lanzarote, apparently only April has no Fiesta here,  and each town has a grand parade in the period of Lent. Now for a lot of us Lent is about giving up something, going without but in Lanzarote its a colourful explosion of parties, fun and laughter.

Carnival Men!

Carnival Men!

The main parade is in Arreciefe with each town then taking their turn and after the bad weather of the weeks before, when it came to Costa Teguise´s turn the weather had improved….dramatically!
The parade started of with men in masks and doing their best to scare the children and adults alike.
If they hit you then you are going to have good luck and whilst they missed me out, my colleague got a tap on her bum …….from their stick with some string at the end. A gentle tap but a good luck tap all the same.

Carnival Ladies

Carnival Ladies

Carnival in Lanzarote Costa Teguise

Carnival in Lanzarote Costa Teguise

Next there were floats and groups, party music and bands.
Each group seemed to want to out do each other with their amazing colours and festival spirit. Serious faced, fun faced all out to celebrate an amazing carnival here in Lanzarote.

The bands march on Lanzarote Carnival

The bands march on Lanzarote Carnival

DSCF9165For me my favourite part is always the drum bands. This one was knocking out the rhythm for YMCA and yes I did get carried away and started to do the hand moves, much to the surprise of all the Spanish who looked at me as though….´she´s English!´.
Yet it was all about laughter and fun, so why not join in and be a bit excentric!
The beat of the drum hits me at the core and I just love these bands and in this parade I listened to 4 bands all beating out a tremendous party atmosphere that I could feel from my head to my feet but most of all in my heart.

Gandalf!!!!!

Gandalf!!!!!

 

Did my eyes deceive me or is that Gandalf waving at me, taking me back into my favorite book and film of all time. Imagination was running wild when I read that book and now in front of me is the amazing Gandalf…

There was as well Charlie Chaplin, Snow White, Buzz Light Year, Spider Man, Mongolian trekkers. 70´s hippies, half man and half horse – very clever, and so much more to make me smile.
It is all about having a time to really let your hair down, perhaps hide behind a mask, a different persona to your normally daily life and let the fun side out!

 

Maybe there is a lesson here in that we all live our lives and often forget to let our hair down. Or feel that to be succesful or confident we have to hide behind a mask and that mask may be a certain lucky scarf or shoes!
Yet we can still all enjoy life and we should do and one most important thing for doing that is having someone to share it with. It may be a group of friends, colleagues, acquaintances or as on other  occasions when I´ve not had the blessing of people I know around me then just letting go of that mask we all wear and just enjoying watching everyone and feeling a connection to human spirit.
Enjoy the rest of the pictures

Huge speakers on a party bus Lanzarote Carnival

Huge speakers on a party bus Lanzarote Carnival

Carnival Lanzarote Costa Teguise

Carnival Lanzarote Costa Teguise

Half man and half horse!

Half man and half horse!

Where´s Wally!

Where´s Wally!

DSCF9178

Colleagues at the carnival

Colleagues at the carnival

Futuristic costumes using snorkel tubes! Lanzarote Carnival

Futuristic costumes using snorkel tubes! Lanzarote Carnival

 

 

About recoveringme

Recovering Me is about your journey in life, where you are now and where you want to be. Everything that has ever been created has started with a thought. Where can your thoughts take you when you step onto the path of change.
This entry was posted in Coaching, Living Abroad, ME, Positive Actions, positive thinking, Recovering Me and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Carnival in Lanzarote

  1. Sara Wilson says:

    Looks like fun! Glad you got to join in the festivities and get carried away by the beating of the drums, Gill! 🙂

Leave a Reply

