Have a heart

I have always had this weird theory and please shoot my idea down…….but! Yes I hate the word ´but´  as to me it invalidates the previous comment so actually I am saying No you can´t shoot my theory down so here it is anyway!

I´ve always thought that each individual is born with a set amount of heart beats. Who or what chooses what level you get is another debate well above my level of discussion, having said that I have always wanted to make the most of each heart beat as a tribute to the fact that I am alive and breathing still.

Just as an example a
mouse has a heart rate of heart 500 beats per minute
a human at  heart 70 beats per minute
an elephant at heart 28 beats per minute
which perhaps shows why an elephant living a full life lives so much longer than a mouse or a human!

When, due to thyroid illness my pulse rate dropped to 49 beats a minute in some peoples mind I had the heart of a super trained athlete who was at that time, at rest. The heart is the biggest muscle in the body and as with all muscles it can be trained to be at peak perfection and performance. Yet I was no highly trained athlete just a woman whose thyroid could no longer support her heart to work. It meant I was at danger of living life on the edge of a coma, which was how I was living my life and also with such slow heart rate my arteries furring up quickly causing heart failure.

My other option was medication to improve my thyroid and I was unable to take the normal NHS medication of Levothyroxine as it stayed in my body, poisoning it and causing me such pain that I really thought that death was an option.. MY Doctor was reluctant to prescribe Cytomel, T3 as it costs 52 UK Pounds a packet and it would give the NHS heart failure which translated to me from my Doctor as it would give me the risk of heart failure.
I´ve been taking this wonder medication now for  years and I have my life back. My heart rate is stable at 68 beats a minute. Yes I do find it very tiring to do strenuous exercise that raises my heart rate, maybe heavy lifting is not such a good idea up two flights of stairs twice a day yet I am living and enjoying every heart beat I have and I intend to stick around for many more.
If you want to get your thyroid life back on track, don´t just accept the bland treatment on offer, ask for the gold plated!  It got my life back…..and now I´m seeing amazing sights and meeting great people.

Arreciefe, Lanzarote

Arreciefe, Lanzarote

Cactus Garden

Cactus Garden

Jardin de Cactus, Lanzarote César Manrique

Jardin de Cactus, Lanzarote
César Manrique

Jardin de Cactus, Lanzarote César Manrique

Jardin de Cactus, Lanzarote
César Manrique

Jardin de Cactus, Lanzarote César Manrique

Jardin de Cactus, Lanzarote
César Manrique

Jardin de Cactus, Lanzarote César Manrique

Jardin de Cactus, Lanzarote
César Manrique

Jardin de Cactus, Lanzarote César Manrique

Jardin de Cactus, Lanzarote
César Manrique

mirador del rio lanzarote César Manrique

mirador del rio lanzarote
César Manrique

mirador del rio lanzarote César Manrique

mirador del rio lanzarote
César Manrique

About recoveringme

Recovering Me is about your journey in life, where you are now and where you want to be. Everything that has ever been created has started with a thought. Where can your thoughts take you when you step onto the path of change.
This entry was posted in Adrenal Fatigue, Living Abroad, Low Thyroid, ME, Positive Actions, positive thinking, Recovering Me and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

