I Wish I Had Met……

For most of us there is one or two people that we wish we had met…it may be a singer, actor, politician or a person who has influenced the world.k

DSCF1027Today I came across the person I wish I had met…and it’s Cesar Manrique.  An artist and sculpture who has influenced the landscape that is Lanzarote. He took the scenery and set about living in an historical lava flow.

I went to his house today which he converted to a museum before his death in 1992.

DSCF1028Lanzarote is influenced even today by his vision of colour, movement and expression of life.

DSCF1036His home was built into a lava flow after discovering underground lava bubbles. With trees reaching for the sunlight in sheltered caves in colours not reflected by the black landscape.

DSCF1039A hidden swimming pool and bbq area, even a dance floor.

Tranquil,  serene and so integrated nature, sky and water.

DSCF1035I had to look twice at the tunnels connecting the lava bubbles as they seemed almost to be formed of Ice! Just carved out of pure black lava…..

There was just such a feeling of peace and quiet which I needed in my life. It touched me deeply and filled me calm, yet still I had not realised that I should have met this man.

3rotator_aerea-3947c91edaCesar left Lanzarote fir a few years. His dream was to keep the island special….low rise….white and black…splashes of colour in art work….instead the authorities decided to build a huge tower block hotel. The only blot on the Lanzarote landscape.

DSCF1049Every where you look there is Manrique art. Designed to catch your attention, head turn, awake your senses. Help you to look at black and white from a different angle.

It was at the end when I saw a video that I knew I should have met this man. His smile was captivating, engaging you in his vision. A belief that things can be better and that a smile goes a long way.

Mot only would I have liked to meet him but it made me realise what an epitaph it is when you leave behind people that you don’t know, that will want to meet you! I would like to think that in the future just one person will perhaps say ‘i wish I had met her…’ For some of us it will be Grand children not yet born, for others it will be because they were famous actors or rich and successful.

Have a think, there will be just something you can do that will leave that legacy. I’m going to carry on working out what will be mine.

 

About recoveringme

Recovering Me is about your journey in life, where you are now and where you want to be. Everything that has ever been created has started with a thought. Where can your thoughts take you when you step onto the path of change.
This entry was posted in Coaching, Grounding, Living Abroad, ME and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I Wish I Had Met……

  1. Sara Wilson says:

    Wow, sounds like an amazing person. Glad that you found a moment of refuge and peace in his space.

    • recoveringme says:

      Thanks Sara, it was an amazing space and makes you appreciate his vision for this island. Art appears every where and his influence is long lasting.

Leave a Reply

