It’s today….

Well with an introduction like that you can either read all this or just scroll through to the end to see the punch line! So it is 2 weeks now since landing in my change of location and it does seem a long time ago and yet also familiarity is setting in. On my first day of I drove to the town in the mountains,Teguise for a look around and to also do something I love and that was to walk dogs. It’s a small town with a castle on a hill to watch out for the pirates from and then a grand church and convent.
DSC_0079Looking at it with eyes new I could see its charm but could not see past my wanting to compare….back to Altea and that left me feeling quite sad.

DSC_0083I was living in the past, comparing, questioning and I wondered if I needed to give the place a second chance. Today I did just that. A huge Sunday market was on, aimed at the bus loads of tourists bought in to swell the population by I would guess double. It was a wet and really cold day. The crowds were there but more concert about rain dodging than real shopping.
DSCF1016

DSCF1015The vendors were cold and miserable too and I got the feeling that Maybe my first impression was right it was no Altea but I persisted for a while longer. Through the streets, I heard a brass band playing, sheltered in a room away from the rain and still playing with passion and a sense of humour….they started playing ‘its raining men’. Well it bought a smile to my face and I felt the clouds on my shoulders lift a bit.  DSCF1015Turning another corner I saw the traditional food stalls selling honest, home produce. Just what I love. Not a large selection and would never pass the uniformity standards set by supermarkets. Just honest food. It was coming to the end of the market tome and with the bad weather and nthining crowds it was time for them to pack up. Time for me to wander the streets and discover the rich heritage here. DSCF1023Stunning and individual stores that just welcomed you in for a look. Local bars,where the girls on their motorbikes met. Stunningly beautiful guitar and vocals from another bar. It did make me think and I had heard this,quote from a friend and realised that instead of living in the past then I should be living these words instead…..sketch-1421595308334

About recoveringme

Recovering Me is about your journey in life, where you are now and where you want to be. Everything that has ever been created has started with a thought. Where can your thoughts take you when you step onto the path of change.
This entry was posted in ME. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to It’s today….

  1. Lyn Fryer says:

    Onwards and upwards!!!!!!!!!!! That is the motto for this year! xxx

    • recoveringme says:

      THANKS LYNN. Appreciate the sentiment and may it work for all of us.

    • recoveringme says:

      You warned me at the very start that Altea is a very transient place. You never warned me that it would be so hard to leave…..
      So Now I am holding you to another comment you made to me and that is ‘people always return’

      • Sara Wilson says:

        Hmmm… Good point, Gill. I suppose it’s because I haven’t yet left Altea that I haven’t realized how hard it is to leave. I will keep your words in mind. But people definitely do come back and I’m sure that you will when the time is right.

  2. Sara Wilson says:

    Gill, the truth is that the past and Altea and all your friends will be here when you come back. For now, embrace the opportunity to experience new experiences and see new things. We’re all rooting for you and very much with you in spirit!

Leave a Reply

