Barcelona and bust!

Just when you take something for granted, it lets you down and I should know.

Over these last few weeks I’ve packed a lot into my time and always kept an eye on my medication and my food.
It’s been wonderful with Russ arriving after his long trip from the UK  on his motorbike  That’s a whole other story as he always worries about getting lost and yet, he made it here.

Russ from UK to Spain. Saddle sore and happy.

Russ from UK to Spain. Saddle sore and happy.

Guadalest

Then we took the opportunity to take day trips out as we knew from being in the car that the roads to Guadalest were amazing and to have the chance to travel them on a bike was going to be some experience. Yet for me there was one problem.

P1050729 Now I love the experience but the view can get a bit boring. At least I had the good luck mascot in memory of my lovely Ginger cat, who I recently lost and also his black friend Casper who was recovering from illness to look at.
One thing it did give me was plenty of time for EFT – something that helps balance me.
Yet on the back all you have is side vision and your body knows that it is under stress even if you don’t think about it yourself.

The big trip was for us to go by the bike to Barcelona. Now that was a 9 hour journey but the time in Barcelona for their fiesta was worth it. The city was packed, jammed, full and so were the hotels. We hit a snag with ours and that caused my stress levels to rise, but it got sorted….

Magic fountains 1

Around the city we walked and came across beautiful sights such as the magical fountains of Montjuïc. A lovely young couple offered to take our picture and that was lovely.
The parks the next day all had some stage set up with events such as the Human Tower competition. Incredible with some of the youngest climbing right to the top being no more than 5 years old!

Barca Human towers 1

La Castanya Restaurant

La Castanya Restaurant

Barca pink elephant

Then the most amazing little bar off a back street down the side of Las Ramblas. Burgers from heaven as Russ described them after his 4th beer, which is when he spotted the pink elephant on the wall. You must visit La Castanya……

Toll booths Stiges Beach

On the way back it was a stop off at Stiges for a quick look around and then a long haul on the toll roads. Very long journey and we were both in need of a rest when we got back to Altea to find,,,,,, Another huge fiesta going on here.

Straight into party mode. Meal out, fireworks on the beach and the end to a long trip.
Poor Russ only had a day to rest before it was farewell time and his long journey back to the UK.
Back home now, Russ is facing redundancy. I know he’s been telling ‘the universe’ that he hates his job and he wants out but the difference between saying it from the comfort of a job and a home to it becoming a reality are huge steps apart. There is a lot of talking to do, understanding, supporting and in time a fresh outlook and new start.
It’s not the job that we took for granted it was my health and since Russ left I’ve had to crawl back into my cave a bit. I tried getting up early to go dog walking but I knew I didn’t have the strength. It’s been 5 days since I’ve had a conversation with anyone face to face.
I’ve been taking my Mexican medication  for a month and felt great. Then early September I switched back to the NHS version and I can feel the difference. The energy is so much less, I’m getting sluggish again and my brain has opened up the gaps again in my memory.

I’m back on my vegetable juices and will get better again.
The warning signs were there
The worrying about Russ on his journey over. My adrenal glands not understanding that the bike trip was not a danger. Being in a city surrounded by electricity and people. Finally the future.
All these things have ganged up on me and made my adrenals slow down, stopped my conversion of thyroid drugs and left me weak again.
I’m living in a quiet way in a normally fairly quiet town and thatis why I can live a fairly normal life. If you are living in the fast paced world then do give yourself time to rest and relax. You don’t have to give 100% every minute you are awake to doing things. Give your body a break and it will reward you in the long run.

About recoveringme

Recovering Me is about your journey in life, where you are now and where you want to be. Everything that has ever been created has started with a thought. Where can your thoughts take you when you step onto the path of change.
This entry was posted in Adrenal Fatigue, Coaching, Living Abroad, Low Thyroid, ME and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

