Face your fears, it could be more fun than you think.

To some of my friends I’m the ‘just do it – woman’ and they find that my attitude of having a go at something rubs off on them!
Such as my friend who had been wanting to clear out her spare room to create an office. Then ‘home solutionist’ = Me! Stepped in and helped her to create her plan, put it into action (needed men folk here) and now she loves her new office!

We all have fears and some of them are rational, such as never jumping out of a plane from 3,000 feet without a parachute, or some are irrational such as my fear of moths….. My baby brother apparently has a lot to answer for that one.
I put a movie the other week about setting your self up for a good day and suggested you watched it each morning, and I created one for me which says that

‘I accept new challenges to see more of the world’.

It was interesting in this last week that I was there when someone else did exactly my ambition of seeing more of the world.

Alex and his parents came to see me and his Dad’s ambition for the holiday was that he should try scuba diving and that Alex should try it too.
Alex is 12 years old and to him the thought of being underwater was scary!

  • How do you breathe?
  • Will I be OK?
  • What if I don’t like it?
  • Will I let my Dad down?

All totally rational thoughts and especially as this young man had never even snorkeled before!
It was great that we took him to Mundomar first, a water based theme park where you get to see sea lions, dolphins and so much more. So his interest in underwater was there.
Then we went to a great little B&B, which just happened to have a dolphin mosaic on the bottom of the swimming pool.
Alex’s interest in seeing the dolphin, took over and as he slowly listened to instructions and gained confidence in small steps, he launched himself.

Very first attempt at snorkeling and he was off across the pool

Very first attempt at snorkeling and he was off across the pool

The next thing we knew he was off!
The pool held no fear, he knew we were there to support him and help him.

He had a dolphin to look at!
After that he started to teach himself as to how to blow out the tube when it was water logged….

How to go under water and reserve breathe for the blow out. The length of the pool meant nothing to him as he learned his technique. With proud Dad looking on and capturing the event.

The very next day it was in the sea to snorkel and within seconds he was looking at fish

The very next day it was in the sea to snorkel and within seconds he was looking at fish

The next day, it was off to the beach. The weather was a bit windy and cool and it took us all a few attempts to get into the sea. Then at only Alex’s waist height I told him to put on his mask and snorkel and just stand still, bend till he could look under water and within seconds the fish had arrived to inspect the sand lifted by his feet and the morsels they could find.
Again it was small steps with a swimmer by his side but off he went to marvel at the sights. After only 10 minutes, a it was cold, we had to call a day and yet his fish score was quite high!
The look of pure delight on his face as he left the sea and ran to his Mum and Dad to tell them of his experience was amazing. Father and Son held together in a moment of joint pleasure, anticipation and expectation that more was to come.

Only 2 days later and off we all went to Dive Centre Greenwich in Altea. I backed down from the scuba experience, maybe my small steps had not been taken to get me to the level to see more of the world, or maybe someone was missing who should be sharing it with me?
I went snorkeling instead in rough seas, something I’ve not done before, so a new experience too.

Alex was still unsure, what if he didn’t like it? What if he let his Dad down? He didn’t. He got one on one help, got down two meters (update, I stand corrected, it was 3 meters!)  and came up smiling and wondering when he can do it all again!

And now he has his introduction to Diving  certificate

And now he has his introduction to Diving certificate

Alex and his Dad had a fantastic experience and it was all captured on Facebook.

Sometimes others dream and plan for us. Just remember that it is you who makes the decision as to what you do. Alex wanted to please his Dad, yet at only 12 he has been bought up to know he could take the options he wanted to. By scuba diving  he gave himself so much more confidence and also a real Father /Son connection that they can enjoy together.

When trying something new, it is all about small steps. Having support. Having wonderful encouragement. Knowing that others believe in you. Maybe you need a distraction as Alex did with the Dolphin in the pool, or the fish at his feet. So  ‘just do it’ and through this you will take the next steps in your life.

About recoveringme

Recovering Me is about your journey in life, where you are now and where you want to be. Everything that has ever been created has started with a thought. Where can your thoughts take you when you step onto the path of change.
This entry was posted in Coaching, Living Abroad and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Face your fears, it could be more fun than you think.

  1. Joan George says:

    Go girl, fantastic – as usual there is no stopping your power xx

  2. Russ says:

    This reminds me very much of the fear that I faced in 2009.
    In 2008 I bought a new 600cc motorcycle, ( midlife crisis attack….lol ) As I already had a 125cc motorcycle and passed my motorcycle test, it was great to get to and from work on, superb on petrol at £12 a full tank giving me about 270 miles to the tank full, but now I wanted to move on….again. A bigger more faster ride, one where I `dreamt` of using to go farther afield, Europe! The seed was planted. South of England, over to France, travel through Europe, who knows, maybe around the world. `Fantastic, great, exciting`! (insert the sound of the needle being scratched across the record here), `What if I get lost? The bike breaks down? I don`t speak the language? I run out of money?????. FEAR CREEPS IN. That’s it I`ll stay in England. No need to go down South, I can ride around the North, not far from home. FEAR had arrived, complete with baggage and was staying for a long time.
    So there I was, dreams of being the next Ewan McGregor or Charlie Borham, (depending on your tastes) riding off round the world had come crashing (no pun intended) down to earth with a huge bang.
    Step in `Just go for it` Gill. `You don’t have to go on your own, look for some help and support`. `You `CAN DO IT`. We checked out the internet, and there ( music of enlightenment now plays) in front of me is a guided tour company. I challenge the FEAR and grip it by its controlling neck. `I`m going to do it` `I`m going to go on a guided tour group`. We researched the company. All good. Spoke to the tour guide, (Pete), all good news. I decided there and then on the phone to him, to go along. I payed the deposit and booked my place. `I`m off to Europe at last`. I told Gill. I’d finally done it. She was so excited for me, and she said, `How does the FEAR feel now?` The FEAR! The FEAR which really has stopped me doing a lot of things in the past? It had been defeated. The `FEAR`s` bubble had been popped, not mine. It didn’t seem so BIG after all. It was not this overpowering bully anymore, it had been given a sharp kick in its own pants. It was shown the door. It was thrown out of the doorway of my life and was seen scurrying down the path. It felt fantastic, like a huge burdened weight had been removed from me. I was smiling like a Cheshire cat like in Alice in Wonderland.
    Later on, the `FEAR` tried to wheedle its way back in. `What if you break down`? `Run out of money?` `What if you lose the riding group?` `Oh don’t` go, stay here with me, we`ll be safe`.
    I stood up to it, faced it straight on. `I have breakdown and repatriation cover. I have a credit card. I have a satnav`. It kept bombarding me, and trying to plant its `NEGATIVE` thought seeds into my head, but this time I was using my `POSITIVE` `seed` killer and digging them right out of my head. The `FEAR` started to shrink, like the wicked witch in the end of `The Wizard of Oz`, it was withering and dying, pleading to be let in to stay, but I was getting stronger and realising that a `DREAM` was now becoming the `REALITY`.
    I told a workmate, who also had a motorcycle what I had done and I saw myself in him. He wanted to go but kept putting up the reasons (excuses) why he couldn’t go. I told him all about my battle with my `FEAR` and how easy it was in the end to stand up to it and not let it tell us what NOT to do.
    Six months later I`m sitting on my bike, packed up with all my gear, on the quayside at Dover waiting for the boat to France. Seventeen motorcyclists in all on this guided tour going to the South of France and back in a week via the Millau bridge in the sky. Fifteen of motorcyclists I’ve never met before. `You said it was seventeen before` I hear you say. That’s right. Fifteen of them I did not know, plus myself, plus, my workmate.
    The `FEAR` had been squashed by us both.

    It was the best experience of my life. So much so, that now, this year, I`m traveling on my `OWN` from home to the far side of Spain, on my bike. I would not of done all of this without the help and support of one person in my life who has said to me from the start `JUST DO IT`.
    Gill.xxx

  3. Pingback: Face your fears, it could be fun! | bpcoaching

Leave a Reply

