It’s not an age thing, its an illness that you can recover from.

One thing about this illness is that it appears to prematurely age you. I can vouch for that as I continually shocked a colleague in work who would look at me and gasp ‘ Gosh you’ve aged 10 years in the last 5 minutes!’.

I’ll have to get the pictures out to prove this but
5 years ago everyone thought I was between
10 and 12 years younger than my actual age!
3 – 1 year ago people thought I was
10 years older than my actual age!
Now, I’m still looking older than 51 and people accept my comment that I’m retired – far too easily.
I’m just hoping they are thinking
‘lucky woman to be able to retire so early!!!

So early ageing, for me it was true. It was what I called my muscle collapse, when I’d run out of adrenaline, my thyroid had given up and I just collapsed into myself. My muscles could no longer support the weight of my skin and what was visible was that my face dropped. I suppose I looked like a stroke victim. Not everyone saw that I was having the same problems with my arms, legs and whole body.

It then happened when I was with a good friend. She’d heard me talk about the invisible illness and just nodded and said, ‘well that sounds awful’. Of course I was managing my meetings with her to times when I felt OK and also cutting them short.On this occasion I couldn’t do either. She needed her son looking after and then thoughtfully cooked a meal for me to say thanks.
The look of horror on her face as she saw the muscle collapse in my face, my loss of co-ordination, my inability to think of words and to then say them! I could see the expression of disbelief that this was happening to me and the effect it was having on her.

This is the other side to Thyroid illness. Not what happens to the sufferer but also to those close to you and those observant enough to catch the signs of this invisible illness. It’s not invisible at all, all the signs are there, you just need to be a good enough colleague, friend, partner to stop, look and recognise what you can do to help.

Don’t accept ageing as natural and certainly get concerned if it is early ageing.
The signs could be
dry skin
dry hair
forgetting things
intolerance to heat
feeling cold
intolerance to music – who hasn’t said ‘turn that TV down?’
pains, especially in the morning
constipation
tiredness
weight gain
slowed down
restless nights
going to the toilet in the night.

We don’t always notice these things ourselves but if you notice them in a friend then you can help them by asking them just one great question and that is….
What can I do for you?
It’s an offer of support for an invisible illness that whilst it may appear small it is in fact incredibly huge. There is no inferred complaint that you think the person is lazy, it just gently wakes up the mind that maybe something is wrong and that accepting help is the right option.
Thanks to Elizabeth Turp and her book on CFS– Help for family and friends that helped me see through that part of the fog and accept help that was being offered and also as a reminder that someone cared for me to want me to stop pushing myself and hurting myself and them.

About recoveringme

Recovering Me is about your journey in life, where you are now and where you want to be. Everything that has ever been created has started with a thought. Where can your thoughts take you when you step onto the path of change.
This entry was posted in Adrenal Fatigue, Low Thyroid, ME and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to It’s not an age thing, its an illness that you can recover from.

  1. Russ says:

    Having been your watcher and knowing when the illness strikes, I can agree that it is hard to watch and worse to know the suffering is not something I can help with.
    Great to see you getting better and having less of these muscle weakness attacks.
    I promise to keep asking the question ‘what can I do for you’ more so that now you can work out for yourself the limits and need less hand holding. (although i do like holding your hand) I will always be there. X

  2. Terry says:

    Sufferers like yourself, Gill, are indeed lucky to have a ‘watcher’ like Russ, just as I have my Chris. Thank you for sharing your experiences with all who follow your blog, and thank you for your personal interest in my symptoms, and all pieces of advice you have freely given to me. I will keep up my fight for acceptance by the NHS that there is a cure for my symptoms, and will miss your presence in the immediate future, but I know that you will still be there to help and advise should I ask for it. Take great care on your forthcoming adventure, and don’t forget to enjoy it all. 🙂

    • recoveringme says:

      I will always be there to offer any assistance I can to you and Chris.
      We don’t fight this illness nor the NHS – we have to work in partnership and occasionally subversively and it is always in our best interests.
      Keep working on listening to the requests that your body is making and by working with those you will recover. Lots of love Gill X

  3. Elizabeth Turp says:

    Thank you Gill! I can relate all too well to the experiencing of many ages before i reach them. I read all your blog posts, I like your continual exploration. I’m going freelance from May in part to have the freedom to develop my work in whole person wellness. Feedback like this helps me to know I’m on the right track. Wishing you all the best with your health. Elizabeth.

    • recoveringme says:

      Hi Elizabeth,
      thanks for reading my blog and I take it as such a compliment because your book was an amazing help to me and I always encourage others to read it too. It became my ‘watchers’ bible and he still carries it around in his manbag now, as he never knows when he may need inspiration in how to help me and to also look after himself.
      So pleased you are taking the opportunity to go freelance and develop yourself and your skills. You have many skills already and adding to your strengths will serve you and all those you help a great deal.
      Wishing you every success now and in your amazing future
      Gill

Leave a Reply

