Internal voices that say we can’t!

You have probably heard of the saying
‘That if you think you can’t or you think you can, then you are probably right’
or
‘if you aim for nothing, then you will probably be very successful’

I was reminded of these the other day when I took a short walk along the sea front
and I took this picture.

The turning of the tide.

The turning of the tide.

You can’t see it clearly but I was fascinated for a while. The tide was trying to come in and yet there were still pools of water rushing to get back out to sea. The waves were crashing up and into each other as they argued about coming in or going out. Well with nature there really is no argument, it either does or it doesn’t and yet it was interesting to watch the struggle for a while.

At this moment in time I’m having that tussle inside my head too, not knowing which way to turn and having outside factors impact on my life and my decisions. I was getting dragged down by my inability to move forward and I was giving my self a hard time. Yet at the same time I was looking out at a beautiful winter scene with its weak sunlight and blue sky, fresh and crisp air and I knew life was good.
So instead of deciding that ‘I can’t’ do something I took some action. I sent an email and a situation I thought was ‘lost’ now has hope. I called a friend and instead of feeling lonely I had a happy chat for a while. Instead of believing I could do nothing I made an appointment with someone who will help me find my new path.

It may be winter out there but in my heart I feel the beginning of a new path for me.
What do you need to do to find your path and instead of aiming for nothing and achieving it, how about getting your facts and head together and aiming for something and achieving it. Then you could celebrate……..

About recoveringme

Recovering Me is about your journey in life, where you are now and where you want to be. Everything that has ever been created has started with a thought. Where can your thoughts take you when you step onto the path of change.
This entry was posted in Coaching and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Internal voices that say we can’t!

  1. Sara Wilson says:

    Congratulations on believing in yourself and giving yourself the opportunity to grow spiritually and live fully! I definitely agree that you’re only limited by yourself. And it has certainly helped me also to look at the beauty of nature and, in this way, get a better understanding of the big picture.

    • recoveringme says:

      Hi Sara,
      thanks for your comments and thanks for continuing to read my blogs.
      I am in the great position that I have everything to gain by moving forward into unknown territory and what I lose will make me stronger, just as you have found.
      Continue your blog writing as it does inspire me.
      Meet up with you soon.
      Gill

  2. Russ says:

    I love watching the tussle of the sea and also letting nature put things into perspective. Maybe I will follow my dream soon as well.

Leave a Reply

