Thyroid medication – not the answer for everyone!

Been diagnosed with low thyroid function and been put onto the No 1 medication – levothyroxine or another such hormone replacement (I’ll call them all T4 from now on)? Still feeling unwell?

In 2009 there were 21.9 million levothyroxine (T4) tablets dispensed in the UK, the third most popular drug prescribed. It is the medicine of choice for the  General Medical Council (GMC) who seem to be of the opinion that it fixes all symptoms of hypothyroidism.

For me it started with the initial comment that my thyroid hormones were within range and I was not low!

Yet I was still showing all the symptoms

  • Constipation
  • Dry skin and hair
  • Fatigue
  • Pain
  • Sensitivity to cold
  • A low body temperature
  • Weight gain
  • Slow heart rate
  • Swelling around eyes and face
  • Slow reactions
  • Hoarse voice
  • Difficulty swallowing
  • No energy
  • Less stamina
  • Long recovery periods
  • Loss of hair, lack of hair growth
  • Forgetfulness, foggyness.

Eventually I got onto T4 and I believed I would be cured. I wasn’t. I got a little better and then worse again, so my dose was increased. I got a little better then worse again and so it continued for 18months.
Then I had a thyrotoxic shock – I became angry, irritable, shaky, panicky. I felt like I was starting to have a heart attack. I was still fatigued, weak and by now totally fed up!

It still wasn’t enough for the Drs to realize that T4 did not suit me. I was left in limbo land to try and cope whilst attempting to function on a level of T4 that did not sustain a daily existence for me.

If you feel you are not getting better on T4, then do realize that there is more hope. I’ve done the research, been through the process and can help, support and advise.

   Recovering Me
info@recoveringme.co.uk

About recoveringme

Recovering Me is about your journey in life, where you are now and where you want to be. Everything that has ever been created has started with a thought. Where can your thoughts take you when you step onto the path of change.
This entry was posted in Low Thyroid and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Thyroid medication – not the answer for everyone!

  1. Hi Gill: Your Low Thyroid posting is of particular interest to me, as I believe myself to have a low thyroid function. I have all of the symptoms you listed…… and more! -add Tinnitus, dished/ridged fingernails, my own ‘resting pulse-rate’ of 47-53 (‘normal’ is supposed to be 70!), Carpal Tunnel syndrome, and an average body-temperature of only 35 degs C: all of which are typical of the Hypothyroid sufferer. What really concerns me is the (almost?) 100% lack of interest in, or knowledge of, this subject by GPs, British Endocrinologists, and the BMA, generally. The Senior Partner GP at my local surgery, after recently declaring all my blood results as ‘normal’ (and therefore I must be ok, even though I am still very fatigued!)), told me that if I MUST have a category it will either ME or CFS, and that if either is true then there is no help available for me! I am presently having to conduct my own research into my suspected low-thyroid condition, but with plenty of help from fellow-sufferers, the highly-illuminating patient-blogs on “www.nhs/Conditions/Thyroid-under-active”, the brilliant book “Your Thyroid, and how to keep it healthy” by Dr Barry Durrant-Peatfieldand, and the wealth of other internet material available (including that in your own blog). Thank you for sharing your experiences, and explaining the struggle that will surely be presented to me by an NHS which will not want to listen.

  2. recoveringme says:

    Terry,

    thanks for contacting me and I look forward to working with you in compiling the evidence you can take to your Dr. I’ll also work with you on how to present your case.
    Presentation of your case is key here to getting the best relationship with your Dr. Although if they do fail to listen despite the GMC code and Secretary of Care support then we will look at finding a better Dr for you.
    Regards
    Gill

  3. Pingback: Thyroid medication, suggestions for your good health. | Recovering me

  4. Pingback: A blank page…..a fresh start! | Recovering me

Leave a Reply

