Ploughing into rejuvenation with a rabbit and a dog!

It’s been going over 5,000 years.
Offering a union of mind, body and spiritual self.
Does modern day life throw you off balance?

Well at this stage in my recovery I knew I had detoxed and eliminated toxins. I was working with the NHS – a very slow process that one and getting more and more frustrating. Something had to be able to balance me and whilst I couldn’t actually go to a yoga class or even do the moves at home, I got a friend to loan me a book and I looked at the pictures.

I knew that dealing with my low thyroid was stressful. Not just in getting onto the right medication but also because my body was not working properly without thyroid hormones getting into my cells. This was knocking on with my adrenals not getting the message that my body was healthy, so they downgraded too. Leaving me tired and worn out, with exercise one of the last things I actually wanted to do as it tired me out even more. Vicious circle hey!

So back to being logical and stripping away the layers of my illness, I saw that yoga poses actually are linked to different parts of the body. That by doing a Bow, I was massaging the internal organs and sending fresh blood to my adrenals.

Bow yoga pose

It was also good for backache, digestion and alleviates fatigue and lethargy. All sounds good, however there was a  problem.

I actually didn’t have the energy to try the pose in the first place. I couldn’t get to a yoga class as it was too many people, a room with electric lights, I was too unfit!
Yes just all the excuses I could have and yet I still wanted to try.

I found a few more exercises, The Plough. Good for improving circulation, cures constipation (a constant painful issue for me), helps to regulate the thyroid – I needed that one and relieves insomnia a big yes to that one.

Then Rejuvenation, a chain of a few moves put together to soothe the brain. Will it calm mine down enough to let me sleep and take the stress off my poor adrenal glands?

Rabbit pose for yoga

Rabbit pose for yoga

Rabbit,
for anti ageing and sparkling eyes. Well as mine had shrunk beyond trace into my puffy head with droopy eyelids then I was going to give that one a try.
Bonus features
are that it is good for the thyroid, and it also relaxes the brain and strengthens the immune system.

Dog, this looked quite physical and my weakened arms would have to get built up just to try this one. The benefits seemed good though as it gives inner calm. I can see that if the head is upside down then the brain calms. It helps the lymph glands and after my Perrin treatments I knew to treat those with respect too.
Then the spinal twists which are great for wringing out the internal organs, releasing toxins, soothing the nerves and toning the adrenals.

Then the one I really wanted to do, The Shoulder Stand.
I’ve always had those horrible restless legs and getting them up in the air has helped in the past so this was a promising one for me.

Shoulder stand

It offered to balance my hormones, regulate the thyroid gland, help insomnia and get me more flexible and supple. It’s also known as The Queen’s pose as its benefits are really important to women. With raising the legs you are sending fresh blood to your organs and with constricting the flow at the thyroid that gets a great rush of fresh blood when you release.

Anyway, I’m missing the point here. I wanted to get better, I wanted to exercise it was all just beyond me. It didn’t stop me looking at my book, visualising the poses, talking myself through the sensations and benefits I was getting from doing them. Then actually doing the deep relaxation pose and meditating on my good health.

It took time but slowly I started to try to get into the poses. Never pushing, never competing with myself, just a slow try. I gradually managed to create my own gentle routine.
On holiday this year I did my yoga routine every morning on a sun drenched veranda over looking the Agean sea.

Recovering from thyroid, adrenal, CFS/ME issues is all about stripping away the layers of what you need to do to get better.
What small step or even visualisation are you going to do today?

   Recovering Me
   info@recoveringme.co.uk
  Call 03302200112

About recoveringme

Recovering Me is about your journey in life, where you are now and where you want to be. Everything that has ever been created has started with a thought. Where can your thoughts take you when you step onto the path of change.
This entry was posted in Adrenal Fatigue, Coaching, Low Thyroid, Therapies tried. and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Ploughing into rejuvenation with a rabbit and a dog!

  1. Russ says:

    Hi, I’ve done pilates before but never tried yoga. I can see a lot of the principles are the same, so maybe I should give it a try.
    Did you put your own routine together? How do I go about doing that for me?
    Thanks

Leave a Reply

