The Olympian diet – on holiday.

Everyone talks about the Mediterranean diet and I thought that I would do a comparison and see how I felt after a holiday. Which diet works for me and possibly for you too if you have a hectic lifestyle with or without any health complications.

So let’s start with England, where my diet is good and not like a lot of peoples as I am already aware that I need to eat to support my adrenals and also my thyroid. As organic as possible and if not then scrubbed and clean.
So breakfast is my juice and I aim to keep my food as Organic as possible:

  • 2 inch cucumber
  • 1 inch courgette
  • 1 large carrot
  • a handful of spinach (not everyone can take this so trail and error)
  • 1 inch slice fresh pineapple (great for sinus and catarrh)
  • 1 tomato (again a food that some tolerate and not others, if stomach pain happens try without in future)
  • 1 1/4 tablespoons pea protein preferably organic (for the protein to kick start my adrenals)
  • 1 small beetroot
  • 1 stick celery
  • 1 orange
  • half teaspoon olive oil as this helps digestion of the carrots

OK it’s not pretty to look at but it packs one heck of a vitamin and iron punch for me and really sets me up for the day.

Lunch
A home made soup of any and all vegetables I like, just avoiding too much in the way of cabbage, broccoli and other brassiacs. I again use pea protein powder to give me the protein I need.

Evening meal
This is

  •       Meat or fish and a good portion of it too, again I try to buy as organic or free range as possible
  •       vegetables in the winter or salad in the summer. I often make fresh tomato sauce as well.

At first I found that these were enough for me as the protein really helped fill me up so I had no need of

Snacks.
I know there is no mention of carbohydrates,  I’ve introduced them now as my energy and ability to do more has improved and I feel the need again for them. It’s just that I prefer to support my adrenals with protein and carbs at different times. So carbs would be mid morning or mid afternoon and I make home made spelt scones, or I have organic dark chocolate. I can now get away with also eating a little bit of low GI bread.

Drinks
I keep up with my water therapy and that is ½ pint of water with a little added sea salt

  •        on waking up
  •       2 hour after breakfast
  •       ½ hour before lunch
  •       2 hours after lunch
  •       ½ hour before dinner
  •       2 hour after dinner, or just before bed time.

I also have at least another glass to sip during the day. There is no mention of water at meal times as I want my stomach to digest the food properly and not have all the enzymes thinned out by water or wine.
There are exceptions as I get better such as weekends, so I’m not always so good and yes as I get better it’s nice to push the boundaries a bit.

Now Greece
where the food is always fresh from a local garden or business. Often organic as they don’t waste money on fertilisers, just plenty of honest to goodness water and tender care. I can’t get things I take for granted here so what alternatives did I find and can bring back to the UK?

Breakfast
The locals had fresh eggs for sale so a couple of those gave me the protein I needed.
A bit of fresh tomato and cucumber as well, which I supplemented with a bit more than normal of my vitamin tablets.

Other times it was Greek yoghurt, a great protein high breakfast with lowish carbs and the benefit of live bacteria to keep the tum happy.

Lunch
A salad with feta cheese, one of the cheeses I can eat, with lots of olives and olive oil to give me the omega 3 and 6 I need to keep ME at bay.
A mousaka, packed with meat and aubergines and potatoes, as some days after swimming I needed the carbs.
Even tuna kebab, without the chips and with a salad, marinaded in olive oil and herbs, totally delicious.
Maybe even some local bread, well it is without all the chemicals and the local stuff is gorgeous.

Dinner
It was always late at night as I left the beach after 7pm! So with that in mind I tried to keep it to my protein and veg or salads.
A few tatziki nights, maybe a salad, or just the feta, all depending on lunch.
Lots of lovely homemade stews with rich tomato sauces, I just asked them to hold the chips or rice.
I even had a handmade pizza, it was gorgeous as it was fresh with no added chemicals and I had no ill effects, wonderful.

Drinks
Water therapy became really important. I went a day drinking water without salt and found that I sweated a lot and kept needing more water. The next day I was back on track and felt replenished at all times.

Yes, I did drink more wine, with and without meals and had no ill effects. I spoke with a friend today who said, we drink wine at home to de-stress, on holiday it’s not got that bad association. I couldn’t agree more.

So what have I learned……
Whilst I have been on a careful diet it has now got me back to much better health.
It’s been worth the few months of being really conscious about what I eat to be so much better now.
I can step over  a lot of those boundaries and put this behind me.
I will never forget those lessons and will bring myself back to the straight and narrow to give my body the rest and respect it deserves.

Wow, what a lesson. Thanks.



About recoveringme

Recovering Me is about your journey in life, where you are now and where you want to be. Everything that has ever been created has started with a thought. Where can your thoughts take you when you step onto the path of change.
This entry was posted in Adrenal Fatigue, Low Thyroid, ME, Water. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Olympian diet – on holiday.

  1. Russ says:

    I always feel better on a mediteraenean diet. I thought it was because I was on holiday, now I know more I will try to eat Greek and fresh at home.

  2. Pingback: Food just for kids! Well we all love cakes, sweets, crisps and pizza. | Recovering me

Leave a Reply

