If at first you don’t succeed……

If at first you don’t succeed, try, try, try again! Then give up and look for something better to do.

That seemed to be the case with me and Emotional Freedom Technique (EFT). It was my daily sticking plaster and still is to this day. If I want to work on a negative emotion or pain then I use the whole EFT sequence to calm and soothe me. It’s had great success for me.

One evening I was due to teach a dance class and on the way there I started with a migraine. I only get about 2 a year but they wipe me out for at least 2 days. I knew there was no way I could carry on driving to the venue, let alone teach. I found a quiet spot and used EFT to work through my pain. It took about 10 minutes and I was able to drive and then teach for the evening.

With my ME, I knew that EFT was helping, though there was a feeling that I could be doing something better.

Teresa, the coincidence bump in my life, offered a solution.

 Had I heard of Thought Field Therapy (TFT)?
She explained that it started off over 30 years ago and was actually the starting point for EFT.
Where EFT and its healing code is a set routine covering all the meridians then TFT is much more targeted and even looks into reversal issues.
I was intrigued as I knew that EFT worked for me and yet I also knew there was another level I needed to go to and this time I wanted guidance.

A quote from Dr. Roger Callahan web site
How does it work?

Whenever we think of something, we are effectively tuning in a specific “Thought Field” in much the same way as a TV must be tuned in to receive a specific channel. Held within that energy field are the coded information patterns used by the mind and body to generate the entire emotional experience associated with that thought. This is why the experience is always identical – the same “instructions” are followed each time. Dr. Callahan has named these “perturbations” (from a dictionary definition of the word – “a cause of mental disquietude”). By tapping on the correct meridian treatment points in a specific sequence these perturbations can be deactivated, thereby “switching off” the emotional experience. The individual can now think about what troubled them as much as they like as memory remains unaffected – but the negative emotion (anxiety, anger, guilt, etc.) associated with it will no longer be present.

We started our sessions and looking at some of the areas I wanted to work on, fear of letting go of the past, not believing I was good enough for success, my feelings about the illness.
To do this I would think of the issue and how it was affecting me and my thoughts and rate the pain, stress or unhappiness.
Then Teresa would use the correct tapping procedure for me, not just the one size fits all routine.

It made a huge difference as I was able to remove the blocks and clear out a lot of negative emotions that were holding my recovery back.

It’s back to the body wanting to heal itself but we react to certain incidents or episodes in our lives and we interpret how we should be thinking and feeling. This breaks our circuits to healing. The balance of the body’s energy system is broken allowing us to dwell and often grow emotions out of proportion to the actual reality. For me it was a non –invasive way of helping myself to heal. Where my Doctor thought I needed drugs, I knew I just needed to re-balance.

If someone like Paul McKenna is using this as a treatment method then it seems to have some evidence as to it working!

Did TFT cure my ME, No it didn’t. I still feel that there is no 1 treatment that will cure this illness, it is multi – layered. What it did do was to help me

  • learn about my emotions
  • how to release the negative energies I was carrying around with me
  • concentrated my desire to recover
  • taught me how important my central nervous system was, in my recovery
  • there are times when you have to reach out and get a great practitioner to help you (Thanks Teresa)
  • by reaching out I learned about what value I placed on me, it was quite sobering to work on that issue!
  • Giving myself a structure to work towards each week helped.

I’ve told you now about the treatments I have tried and what worked for me. At the same time I was also working on my diet, if I could learn to respect my mind and body then I needed to nourish it correctly too.

All of these things made a difference and each one was a step nearer to my recovery.
I hope these help you too.

   Recovering Me
   info@recoveringme.co.uk
  Call 03302200112 (local UK call rate)

About recoveringme

Recovering Me is about your journey in life, where you are now and where you want to be. Everything that has ever been created has started with a thought. Where can your thoughts take you when you step onto the path of change.
This entry was posted in Coaching, Emotional Freedom Technique EFT, ME, Therapies tried. and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to If at first you don’t succeed……

  1. Expedita says:

    i loved your intention to help people by writing these posts, thanks for it.http://www.divulgaemail.com

Leave a Reply

